Asian World Film Festival honors Hollywood iconic star Nancy Kwan with Lifetime Achievement Award

AWFF opening night Hosted by Dominique DiPrima

Hollywood iconic star, legacy actress, producer and writer Nancy Kwan was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award at 2019 Asian World Film Festival (AWFF) opening night on Nov. 06 in Culver City. The AWFF 2019 Snow Leopard Outstanding Cinematic Achievement Award was presented to Japanese actor Hiroyuki Sanada.

Nancy Kwan is a Hong Kong-born American actress who played a pivotal role in the acceptance of actors of Asian ancestry in major Hollywood film roles.Her works includes The World of Suzie Wong and Flower Drum Song.

In her speech, Nancy Kwan said: “ I am proud of who I am I come from two cultures, my father was Chinese, and my mother was English, I like to be albe to think of ourselfs as citizen of the world. “

“I would like to take this opportunity to encourage more Asian Americans, especially younger generations, to go into mainstream politics. The time is now and you can make difference. “

Nancy Kwan stated: “Today Asian american actors are still having a hard time getting substaintial roles, and often I am asked by young actors going into this business is there a success format to follow?  Unfortunatelly it is not, you have to study hard, believing yourself and it is really about commitment. “

In addition, the AWFF American Red Cross/Tiffany Circle Courage to Dream Award was awarded to film director, Lena Kahn, and Tiffany Chu for 2019 SNOW LEOPARD RISING STAR Award.

The new Warner Bros. film “Just Mercy” (USA) was shown as this year’s AWFF opening night film after the awarding ceremony.

In addition to the closing-night film “Weathering With You,” Japan’s official submission, the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) submitted films include “Meido” from China, “The Bull” from Russia, “Hot Bread” from Uzbekistan (also for Academy Award consideration), “The Secret of a Leader” from Kazakhstan and “Shyrakshy: Guardian of the Light” from Kazakhstan.

The 2019 AWFF Jury includes Ms. Meryem Uzerli (Actress, Germany/Turkey), Jury President; Ms. Guka Omarova (Director, Kazakhstan), Ms. Kieu Chinh (Actress/Producer/Writer from USA/Vietnam), Ms. Sarah Finn (Casting Director, USA), Mr. Jeremy Kagan, (Emmy®-winning Director, USA), Ms. Wenting (Ting Ting) Xu (HFPA), Ms. Iris Yamasa (Oscar®-nominated Screenwriter).

The 2019 AWFF Lifetime Achievement Award honoree: Nancy Kwan

The AWFF 2019 Snow Leopard Outstanding Cinematic Achievement Award Honoree: Japanese actor Hiroyuki Sanada (Left), Jury President, Meryem Uzerli (Right)

The AWFF American Red Cross/Tiffany Circle Courage to Dream Award honoree: Director Lena Khan (Middle)

The Snow Leopard Rising Star Award honoree: actress Tiffany Chu

AWFF foundwe, Kyrgyz public figure: Sadyk Sher-Niyaz (Left)

Executive Director Georges Chamchoun

Actress Nancy Kwan

Actress Nancy Kwan (Middle) with husband Norbert Meisel (Left 2)  actor Dana Lee (Left 1) and cousin race car driver Martina Kwan (Right 2), and Veronika Kwan-Vandenberg (Right 1)

2019 AWFF Jury: Mr. Jeremy Kagan, Emmy-winning Director, professor of USC College of Cinematic Arts

2019 AWFF Jury: Ms. Kieu Chinh (Left), Actress/Producer/Writer, (USA/Vietnam) She is known as one of the most legendary actors from Vietnam.

Actor Anson Chen (Hsi An Chen) and Hiroyuki Sanada (Right)

Director/Producer Aaron Yu (Middle),

Novartizan CEO Sure (Right 1)

Director Ms. Cui Qin (Left 3)

TV Anchor Joey Zhou

Yao Jun (Left 2), Zahra Sun (Middle)

Sponsor: Genki Forest Sparkling Water

Sponsor Bodyfriend team

Volunteer team