Warriors oust Cavs for second championship

The Warriors are 2017 NBA champions.


Kevin Durant scores a team-high 39 points to help Golden State defeat the Cavaliers 129-120 in Game 5. They may have blown a 3-1 lead last year, but the Warriors followed up their Game 4 loss with a huge victory and have now won their second title in three years.

Stephen Curry, Draymond Green, Klay Thompson, and Andre Iguodala have now won two championships, but this year they had Durant at their side to help bring the Larry O’Brien trophy back to the Bay Area. Not only does Durant finally get his first ring, his epic Finals performance also earned him the MVP. Curry was phenomenal for the entire series and finished off the clinching Game 5 with 34 points.

LeBron James has stood in the way of Golden State each of the last three seasons. He stole a title last season, but this year he was only able to prevent the sweep in Game 4. He was incredible throughout the entirety of the series, but his game-high 41 points, 13 rebounds and eight assists wasn’t enough to send the series back to Cleveland for Game 6.

With this victory, Golden State redeems its collapse from last season in a major way and manages to once again find a way to knock off LeBron.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *