14th Annual “Gathering for Cure” of Brain Mapping Foundation in Los Angeles

The Society for Brain Mapping and Therapeutics (“SBMT”), Brain Mapping Foundation (“BMF”), and the National Center for NanoBioElectonics (“NCNBE”) held their 14th Annual World Brain Mapping and Therapeutics Conference at the Millennium Biltmore Hotel in downtown Los Angeles. SBMT was founded in 2004 to break boundaries in healthcare and to promote global interdisciplinary research to improve the diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of patients with central nervous system diseases and disorders.

Dr. Babak Kateb, the Founding Chairman of the Board of SBMT and the Brain Mapping Foundation, and Dr. Wes Ashford, Clinical Professor of Stanford University (affiliated), Director of The War Related Illness & Injury Study Center at the VA Palo Alto HCS and the 14th President of SBMT (2016-17) said “This year, several sessions of the conference focused on translation, integration and development of advanced diagnostics and therapeutics for soldiers, veterans and civilians with neurological disorders.”

According to executive director of Brain Mapping Foundation Dr. Vicky Yamamoto, the brain is the only organ which is not able to transplant. “This year,  320 speakers and 12 keynote speakers addressed state-of-the-art brain science and technology, and pioneering diagnostics therapeutics for Alzheimer’s Disease, Parkinson’s Disease, brain and spinal trauma, brain cancer, psychiatric disorders, the Autism spectrum, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (“PTSD”), as well as all other neurological disorders,”

The 2017 award recipients are as follows: Professors George Ojemann (Pioneer in epilepsy neurosurgery) and John Adler (inventor of Cyberknife) the recipients of the Pioneer in Medicine award; Congressman Jerry McNerney the recipient of Pioneer in Healthcare Policy Award, Professor Afsaneh Rabiei is recipient of the Pioneer in Technology Development; Travis Roy recipient of Beacon of Courage and Dedication; Golden Axon award for leadership is given to Drs. Wes Ashford (2016-17 President of SBMT), Michael Roy (2012-13 President of SBMT) and Drs. Nasser Kashou, Ajeet Kaushik, Alexander Stahn are the recipients of Young Investigator award.

Dr. Peter Diamandis, Chairman of XPrize, was the keynote speaker at the Brain Mapping Foundation “Gathering for Cure” gala.

“SBMT and its science committee includes over 80 scientists that have built this program over the last 16 months”, said the 2018 President Elect of SBMT, Dr. Warren Boling, chairman of the Department of Neurosurgery at Loma Linda University (“LLU”). He added “LLU, City of Hope, and Cedars Sinai Medical Center co-sponsored this world class scientific program for its Continuing Medical education (“CME”) accreditation.”

This remarkable scientific program is supported by industry leaders including: Fiagon, Fulgent Diagnostics, Space Bio-Laboratories Co., Ltd, Siemens Healthcare, Medtronic, Codman, Stryker, KLS Martin, Ad-Tech, Zeiss, Anatom-e, Nordic Neuro Lab (“NNL”), Synaptive Medical, Integra , PMT Corporation, HarleQuin Recruiting, Med Valley Home Healthcare Inc, Jupiter 9 Production, CariCord,  Neurotrope BioScience, California Neurosurgical Institute, Nuvasive, the Law office of Nadia Davari, Planet Street Digital Marketing, Apex Photo Studios, Keri Ann Kimball of Kimball Entertainment, Joe Williamson of Williamson Management, SoVeryVida and Neuronavigation Dinamics.

The scientific program of 2017 SBMT annual meeting had 320 speakers and 12 keynote speakers including Congressman Jerry McNerney, Space Traveler and Engineer Anousheh Ansari, Drs. Gary Small (UCLA), Laligam Sekhar (UW), George Ojemann (UW), Mark Humayun (USC), Wes Ashford (Stanford/VA Palo Alto HCS), Warren Boling (LLU), Kyu Rhee (IBM Watson Health), Dean Yamaguchi (Department of Veterans Affair), and RADM Colin Chinn (Defense Health Agency).

“The Brain Mapping Foundation has been on the forefront of wounded warrior care for 14 years by bringing together world leading scientists” said Ret. Navy Commander Dr. Ken Green. “We have engaged NASA centers, NASA Human Health and Performance, National Labs, Departments of Energy, Commerce, State, Defense, Navy, Army, Air Force, and Defense Health Agency, in our G20 Global Brain Mapping Initiative (Neuroscience-20) aimed at rapidly introducing diagnostics and therapeutics in the field.”

National Academy of Engineering Member Ming Hsieh, and many Hollywood celebrities were in attendance at the “Gatherine for Cure gala including: (event host) Robert PicardoTim KringJim KwikMatthew RhodesCharlie CorwinJames HongKate LinderMel NovakAki AleongNavid NegahbanKen DavitianEden Sassoon, Gary Graham, Jimmy Jean-Louis, James Kyson, Dru Mouser, Sophia MilosVida Ghaffari, Alison Arngrim, Jarrod BunchMax Amini, NFL player Alec OgletreeAndrew JangTony DenisonRachel Sterling of Pussycat Dolls, Shanica KnowlesSean Kanan, Apick Youssefian, Mary Apick, and noted fashion designer Sue Wong. and entrepreneur and publisher Miguel R. Forbes were in attendance at the “Gathering for Cure” gala.


Travis Roy (L2) Beacon of Courage and Dedication Award

Left to right, Dr. Barry Baumel, Travis Roy, Beacon of Courage and Dedication awardee, Dr. Babak Kateb and Dr. Harry Kloor


Executive Director of Brain Mapping Foundation Dr. Vicky Yamamoto


Left to right: Mr. Matthew and Mrs. Maryam Morrison, Editor-in-Chief of The Eden Magazine, actress Vida Ghaffari, iconic fashion designer Sue Wong and Faith Boutin, Managing Director of FVM Global Magazine


Scientists, Doctors and Entrepreneurs of the conference


National Academy of Engineering Member Ming Hsieh (R)


Hollywood Chinese pioneer actor Aki Aleong (R)


Conference Honorary guest Navy Rear Admiral Collin G. Chinn(R) and Ming Hsieh (M)


left to right, Dr. Ajeet Kaushik, Young Investigator Awardee, Megan Zucaro, legendary actor Mel Novak, Dr. Paul Sherman and Producer, Manager and Publicist Joe Williamson


Aki Aleong (L2) Dr. Harry Kloor(L3), Dr. Becky Tsai (L1)



Pioneer in Medicine Awardee Dr. John Adler (R) of Stanford University

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *