Greene, Boebert only lawmakers to vote against bone marrow transplant bill

First-term GOP Reps. Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.) and Lauren Boebert (Colo.) on Thursday evening were the only lawmakers to vote against a bill to reauthorize a bone marrow transplant program.

The measure passed the House 415-2. It reauthorizes the C.W. Bill Young Cell Transplantation Program and National Cord Blood Inventory, which facilitate bone marrow and umbilical cord blood donations and transplants for people with leukemia or other blood diseases.

The bill also directs the Department of Health and Human Services to conduct a review of the state of the science on using adult stem cells and birthing tissues to develop new therapies that could potentially be included in the program.

The bipartisan measure was sponsored by Reps. Doris Matsui (D-Calif.), Gus Bilirakis (R-Fla.) and Chellie Pingree (D-Maine).

Reasons? Greene wrote on Twitter that the bill did not have sufficient protections against the use of fetal tissue.

“The Fake News Media is attacking me for being TOO PRO-LIFE (100%),” she tweeted. “Last night, Congress passed a bill which is not clear about preventing buying of body parts of babies murdered in the womb. I voted NO.”

In a separate statement on Friday, Greene also said the bill was rushed. Boebert’s office did not return a request for comment.