Seven House Republicans vow to reject donations from Big Tech

Seven House Republicans on Wednesday pledged to reject donations from some of the top tech companies in the U.S. amid mounting scrutiny over the market power the tech giants hold.

Rep. Ken Buck (Colo.), the top Republican on the House Judiciary antitrust subcommittee, led the pledge to reject campaign donations from Facebook, Google, Amazon, Apple and Twitter.

Buck was joined by Reps. Chip Roy (Texas), Greg Steube (Fla.), Ralph Norman (S.C.), Dan Bishop (N.C.), Burgess Owens (Utah) and Andy Biggs (Ariz.) in signing onto the pledge.

“These monopolies have shown that personal liberty can be threatened by corporate tyranny just as much as by government tyranny,” the Republicans wrote.

The pledge to reject the donations may be mostly moot for now, as Facebook is suspending all PAC contributions following the insurrection at the Capitol, and Amazon and Google said they would pause donations to lawmakers who voted against certifying the election results.

Steube, Norman, Bishop, Owens and Biggs all supported challenges to the certification of votes.