The Grassroots Democratic Club Joins an Expanding List of Santa Monica Leaders Supporting Councilwoman Lindsey Horvath’s Bid for Supervisor

LOS ANGELES, CA – Today, the Santa Monica Democratic Club announced their endorsement of Councilwoman Lindsey Horvath’s campaign for Los Angeles County 3rd District Supervisor.

“Santa Monicans are rallying behind Lindsey Horvath for County Supervisor because we have had a strong working relationship with her for many years,” said Jon Katz, Santa Monica Democratic Club President. “We have admired her impressive track record of delivering for West Hollywood and the Westside in general, and we are excited to see what she brings to the county level. We know she will be an outspoken voice for our Santa Monica values, which is why our club overwhelmingly voted to endorse her this week.”

“For more than 60 years, the Santa Monica Democratic Club has been a model for progressive action on the Westside,” said Councilwoman Lindsey Horvath. “Their grassroots efforts are game changers in elections, and their commitment to delivering results at the local level is something I share. I am humbled by their support and look forward to our continued work for the advancement of Santa Monica, the LA County region, and our shared Democratic values.”

The Santa Monica Democratic Club, one of the longest-running Democratic clubs in the state, has been a progressive grassroots activist organization dating back to the 1950s. The club focuses on grassroots activism through regular member engagement, special events and organized campaign activities to support their endorsed candidates. They join a large list of Santa Monica leaders supporting her campaign, including Mayor Pro Tem Kristin McCowan, City Councilmembers Phil Brock, Gleam Davis, Oscar de la Torre and Christine Parra, former Mayors Judy Abdo, Kevin McKeown, Pam O’Connor and Ted Winterer, Santa Monica College Trustees Rob Rader and Dr. Nancy Greenstein, Santa Monica-Malibu Unified School District Board Members Laurie Lieberman, Maria Leon-Vasquez, and Dr. Richard Tahvildaran-Jesswein, and AFSCME Local 4819.